When you are arrested with a DUI in Cape Coral, your car is often impounded immediately following your arrest. To locate your vehicle, you or your lawyer can contact the police agency which arrested you. The agency will be able to provide information on which tow company was used.
After the initial vehicle impoundment, your car is once more subject to a subsequent impoundment if you are convicted. Under Florida law, drivers can have their car impounded by the court after being convicted of DUI for at least 10 days and up to 30 days. The reason for this second vehicle impoundment is to act as a deterrent for possible repeat offenders.
The required period of impoundment of your car doesn’t begin until after any required jail time has been served. This means that after you serve your jail sentence and are released from the county jail, your car will be impounded or immobilized at your residence for. It is important to note that you may qualify for an exemption to the statutory mandate of vehicle impoundment.
Ways to Avoid Vehicle Impoundment
In the State of Florida, the court can wave your vehicle impoundment. One way this is accomplished is if you can show the Court a family member uses your car and cannot obtain any other form of transportation. The court can also dismiss your vehicle’s impoundment if your car is considered a work vehicle. This means it is operated solely by one of your employees or by your business. If a substantial hardship or work vehicle exception applies to your case, the issue will be addressed during your sentencing.